- Metric rank (ties)
- 1
- Operational power reactors (units)
- 94

Countries ranked by the number of reactors classified as operational at the end of 2024 in IAEA’s 2025 Nuclear Power Reactors in the World. Each reactor is counted separately; the ranking does not measure power-station sites or generating capacity.
Use operational reactor counts as of December 31, 2024, from Table 1 of IAEA RDS-2/45 (2025). Exclude suspended and under-construction units; net electrical capacity does not determine order. Under PRIS definitions, a reactor can become operational after its first grid connection without commercial handover, and the status does not guarantee continuous generation. Of 34 country rows, 31 report operational counts; blanks and construction-only entries are not converted to zero. Equal counts share a rank and follow source order. Named countries sum to 416 units; the world total of 417 includes one unit in the footnote “Taiwan, China,” which is not added to China’s row. The United Kingdom is tenth with nine, ahead of Spain with seven. Ukraine’s 15 units represent status only; 2024 operating performance was not reported.
References: 1. Page edits do not imply that the underlying data is newer. AI assisted in producing this content; verification status is shown above.
The United States leads with 94 reactors. China and France tie for second at 57 each, followed by Russia at 36 and South Korea at 26. “Operational” is an IAEA status and does not mean every unit generated electricity throughout the year: Ukraine’s 15 units are a status count, with 2024 operating performance not reported.
| Rank | Country / source entry | Metric rank (ties) | Operational power reactors (units) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | United States | 1 | 94 |
| 2 | China | 2 | 57 |
| 2 | France | 2 | 57 |
| 4 | Russia | 4 | 36 |
| 5 | South Korea | 5 | 26 |
| 6 | India | 6 | 20 |
| 7 | Canada | 7 | 17 |
| 8 | Ukraine | 8 | 15 |
| 9 | Japan | 9 | 14 |
| 10 | United Kingdom | 10 | 9 |
No sign-in required. Feedback is reviewed before any content is changed. Limit: 5 per day.
Table 1, printed pp.8–9 / PDF pp.15–16, status 2024-12-31; printed August 2025. Definitions pp.6–7; information received through 2025-06-20. No exact publication day is asserted.
Comments